Maddow Smack Down

August 6, 2009 at 1:22 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Wow, just wow.   Rachel Maddow delivered a blistering investigative report on healthcare reform lies last night: what’s being said, who’s behind it, and how these exploitative, manufactured deceptions are being spread.   Best line: “This is what these groups do…they’re experts at fake grass roots campaigns that promote corporate interests.”  It’s pretty kick ass, take a look:

And give it up to Mike Yarvitz who researched and produced the segment…well done Yarvi!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is awesome! Let’s just hope the media covers these Astroturf campaigns correctly, exposing them for what they are. Somehow I don’t think it’ll happen…

  2. I just saw another video of one of these “protests” (here -> http://tinyurl.com/klk493) and I can’t help but wonder. Does the GOP have anything constructive to add to this debate? Do they have any ideas? Solutions? Do they recognize there even is an issue here? I guess I know the answers to my own questions.

    • Yeah, I saw that too on HuffPo. And I would probably offer the same answers you would. It sort of reminds me of the main idea from What’s the Matter with Kansas…why do people get behind ideas or policies that are detrimental to their own economic or personal needs? I thought the healthcare system was so broken that it would be nearly impossible for conservatives to stir up an anti-reform movement, but miraculously– without ideas for an alternative — they’ve been able to win control of the debate and push Obama off message. It’s as though Bush and Rove never left Washington…their tactics of fomenting faux outrage live on.

      • I think it’s also the case of a few being so loud that they drown out the majority. And the press is lapping it up. I just wish the Dems in Congress had a spine. They seem to crumble under this kind of pressure. Somehow, I don’t think this rattles POTUS at all. They need to just follow his lead.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

