Breaking: Obama Infected with Clinton Strain of Hubris Virus

July 8, 2008 at 11:00 pm | Posted in '08 Campaign, Democratic Party | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


I’m currently obsessed with The Wire, but I can’t truly enjoy it knowing I haven’t blogged about the trail today. Does this mean I’ve found something I genuinely love or I should be institutionalized?

I can’t decide and Omar is calling me, so here’s what’s inside the hotfile tonight:

Both candidates vied for some Latin Love before the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) today. Straight Talk was less than full steam ahead, as Bush II basically repeated, nearly word for word, his stump speech before a town hall yesterday in Colorado, stressing government reform, trashing wasteful spending and lowering taxes for small businesses. But surprisingly, despite a recycled speech, McCain did not lose today. It was Obama who fumbled.

Obama was strong before LULAC, taking McCain to task on failing to follow through on immigration reform and more of the uush: peppered links to Bush on tax breaks for the wealthy. But before the LULAC speech, Obama got fiesty if not confrontational with a town hall attendee in battleground Georgia

“You’re not going to agree with me on 100 percent of what I think, but don’t assume that if I don’t agree with you on something that it must be because I’m doing that politically.”

Whoa, I know the state of the union between Obama and the Clintons is improving and the Office Merger is still underway (Obama plucked Hillary’s former Director of Women’s Outreach today), but has Obama been infected with the Clinton strain of the Hubris Virus? He’s not only denying moving to the center, he’s being downright flip about flip flopping.

But here’s the real jaw dropper, Obama aka Debbie Downer took a cue from Simon Cowell by telling a group of high school students in Powder Springs, Georgia this:

“You are probably not that good a rapper. Maybe you are the next Lil’ Wayne, but probably not, in which case you need to stay in school…Most of you brothas are not [great basketball players].  I know you think you are, but you’re not. You are over-rated in your own mind. You will not play in the NBA.”

Over-rated in your own mind? Why didn’t he just ask Bill to get up on stage and declare that this whole thing is the biggest fairy tale he’s ever seen? And will someone please tell me what happened to the Audacity of Hope?

This better be a 24-hour bug. (Indeed)

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. No, you should not be institutionalized — but you should become an institution. I love this blog; The Wire can wait.

  2. Context, please. I very much doubt Obama was mean-spirited in his tone. In fact, I’m quite sure the context of the speech was to get an education first and foremost. I believe he was making a point. Nothin more, nothing less. And I’m quite sure he didn’t turn red-faced and start yelling, a la Bubba.

  3. What do you expect him to say; pursue wildly unrealistic dreams at the expense of reasonable options like school?

    I really hope I have not been infected by the Obamabot virus that causes one to rationalize everything Sen. Obama says but I actually kind of like hearing about him getting into it with a town hall attendee. Sometimes his image seems a little too calculated, controlled, or produced but anger is almost always real.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

